DINI e.V.
DINI e.V.
               

DINI / Projekte / OA-Statistik / English

deutsch | English

Why OA-Statistics?

A high journal impact factor (JIF) is widely regarded as an indicator of the quality of a journal and of the papers published therein. However, this measure of citation frequency is not uncontroversial because by no means all scholarly journals are covered, and certain document types are excluded altogether. Moreover, the JIF is not calculated on the basis of individual papers, but is a journal-level metric.

Usage statistics are an alternative to the JIF. They reflect the level of interest in accessing the content of an individual article and thereby enable item-level, usage-based assessment. Moreover, recommendation services and relevance criteria can be developed on the basis of usage patterns.

Open-access documents are not subject to any access restrictions. Hence they form a very good basis for the collection of usage statistics and the establishment of a standardised, internationally comparable procedure.

OA-Statistics has adopted these arguments in order to

  • increase the acceptance of Open Access among authors and users of scholarly publications
  • by gathering internationally comparable usage statistics, and
  • by providing a lasting infrastructure for the collection and processing of usage data.


Participate in OA-Statistics and enable your repository's authors and users to benefit from usage-based assessment!

DINI e.V.
DINI e.V.
               

DINI / Projekte / OA-Statistik

deutsch | English

Warum Open-Access-Statistik?

Ein hoher Journal Impact Factor (JIF) gilt als Zeichen für die Qualität einer Zeitschrift und der in ihr erscheinenden Artikel. Der JIF ist jedoch nicht unumstritten, da diese Messung der Zitationshäufigkeit lange nicht alle wissenschaftlichen Zeitschriften umfasst, einige Dokumentengattungen komplett ausschließt sowie die Berechnung nicht für den einzelnen Artikel, sondern jeweils für die gesamte Zeitschrift erfolgt.

Eine Alternative zum JIF sind Nutzungsstatistiken. Sie bilden das Interesse am Zugang zum Inhalt einer Veröffentlichung ab und ermöglichen so eine nutzungsbasierte Bewertung. Aufbauend auf den Nutzungsmustern lassen sich zudem Empfehlungsdienste und Relevanzkriterien erstellen.
Open-Access-Dokumente unterliegen keinen Zugangsbeschränkungen, so dass sie eine sehr gute Basis für die Erhebung von Nutzungsstatistiken und die Etablierung eines international vergleichbaren und standardisierten Verfahrens bilden.
   
Diese Gedanken greift Open-Access-Statistik (OA-Statistik) auf, um

  • durch die Gewinnung international vergleichbarer Nutzungsstatistiken und
  • durch das Angebot einer dauerhaften Infrastruktur zur Erfassung und Verarbeitung von Nutzungsdaten

die Akzeptanz von Open Access bei Autoren und Rezipienten von wissenschaftlichen Publikationen zu erhöhen.

Ermöglichen auch Sie den Autoren und Nutzern Ihres Repositoriums eine nutzungsbasierte Bewertung – beteiligen Sie sich an Open-Access-Statistik!